Winner of the Speed Lecture Award 2023 is Samantha Mendosa from Max Delbrück Center - BIMSB

Nine young scientists made it to the finals of the 17th edition of the Speed Lecture Award and presented their scientific projects to the audience in only three minutes at the BIONNALE on May 16 in Berlin.


First place, endowed with 1,000 euros, went to Samantha Mendosa from Max Delbrück Center - BIMSB (AG Chekulaeva) with her presentation "The cellular postal system - Identification of neuronal zipcodes".

Mathias Ziersch & Jonas Motter from Technische Universität Berlin (AG Applied Biochemistry) & BioNukleo GmbH took second place with a prize of 500 euros for their presentation on " Let's Mett it safe: New antivirals against hepatitis E". 300 euros went to third-place winner Hanyang Liu from Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin (Department of Hepatology and Gastroenterology) on „Breaking down multi-cellular interactions to fight fatty liver disease“.

Other finalists included Vladimir Gluhovic (Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin), Varvara-Rigina Louma (MPI for Molecular Genetics), Gemma Noviello (MPI for Molecular Genetics), Patricia Priegue (MPI of Colloids and Interfaces) and Wiebke Sabrowski (Fraunhofer IZI-BB).

What is the Speed Lecture Award?
Young scientists can apply for this award to present in three minutes their new projects and ideas in life sciences and healthcare industries. The first eight shortlist candidates win a professional pitch coaching, will present their research project in front of an international audience of hundreds of experts from academia and business at the BIONNALE and can win prize money (1.000 € the winner, 500 € the first and 300 € the second runner-up).

The Speed Lecture Award has been initiated and is supported by the healthcare industries cluster Berlin-Brandenburg – HealthCapital and the German Association of Research–based Pharmaceuticals, vfa.

Follow us on LinkedIn and Twitter #SpeedLectureAward!