The winner of the 2021 Speed Lecture Award is Bruna Seco from the Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces

Berlin, May 12, 2021 - Today the 15th Speed Lecture Award took place as part of BIONNALE, again as a live-stream and with over 750 registrations.



From the Urania, this year's BIONNALE and its Speed Lecture Award broadcast to over 50 countries. Eight finalists presented their scientific work within three minutes. All finalists received pitch training in advance from science communicator Dr. André Lampe.

This year, the Speed Lecture Award was presented by Ulrike Pfohl. The winners were chosen live by the audience.

First place, endowed with 1,000 euros, was won by Bruna Seco from the Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces with her presentation "Fighting urgent threats with synthetic vaccines".

Constantin Thieme from Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin came second with a prize of 500 euros for his presentation on "The TreaT-Assay - A Novel Diagnostic Tool after Kidney Transplantation". 300 euros went to third-place winner Soraya Höfs from the BAM Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und -prüfung with the title of her presentation "How to trace a cereal killer?".

Among the other finalists were Ahed Almalla (Freie Universität Berlin), David Haslacher (Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin), Anne Muschter (Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Sciences FhG IAP), Ian Stewart (Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine MDC) and Betty van Aken (Beuth University of Applied Sciences).

About the Speed Lecture Award:

The Speed Lecture Award was created by the Berlin-Brandenburg healthcare industries-cluster HealthCapital and vfa bio (biotechnology interest group in the association of research-based pharmaceutical companies) and supports young scientists in the region.